Like a box of chocolates

By Elizabeth Johnson
image (4)
image (5)
FLORENCE, Italy – Forest Gump’s mom told him that life is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you’re going to get. I think the same could be said for Florence.

I pass by Migone Confetti almost every day on my way to class. For two weeks, I have been mesmerized by its window displays from afar. And by afar, I mean two feet away on the sidewalk. But today, I decided it would finally be the day I entered this beautiful shop.
image (2)

I expected Migone to be similar to American candy stores but slightly nicer. I thought to myself, it will probably have some chocolates, some gummies, maybe a few sour things here and there. When I finally I walked in, Migone had all these things and more. There were the traditional Florentine sweets: panforte, ricciarelli, cantuccini. But my personal favorite was the handmade chocolates packaged in the most elegant little boxes. I knew immediately that I had to have one.

As I walked out of the store and looked at my newest purchase, I realized that I had no idea what flavors awaited me in the little white box. Then I had another revelation. Few of the things I had experienced in Florence so far had been “expected.”

I definitely didn’t expect to spend 18 euro on a box of chocolates. But like all the other unexpected things I’ve tried, it was well worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under dessert, MU Journalism Abroad, Science ad Agricultual Journalism

Leave a Reply

