Italian food- harbinger of happiness

By Jenna Severson

When I had first arrived in Florence I felt like a kid in the largest candy store – if the candy store was filled with pici, pappardelle and penne. Every sight seemed to sparkle and I looked at every meal with love and adoration. I thought nothing could beat this feeling and that this was going to be the most perfect, trouble-free trip I’ve ever been on.

9 days later.

I rolled out of bed ten minutes before we had to leave for class, with a stuffy nose and a sore throat. Between the busy schedules filled with miles of walking and the long nights, courtesy of jet-lag, the reality and difficulty of adjusting to a new place was finally starting to set in.

The day moved along at its normal pace, but for some reason it felt different. I felt different. I felt disconnected from my family and friends back home, with the time difference and inability to make calls creating a void in communication. I felt disconnected with the city I was currently in, unable to understand the norms and languages heard all around me. I felt disconnected from myself, pushing my body harder than it is used to without a lot of time to recover and attempting to sweep these negative thoughts under the rug and move on. Finally, I had reached the point where I was full on homesick, people-sick and plain old sick sick.

By the time dinner came around I forced myself to leave the comfort of my bed where I had been napping and join the study abroad group for a dinner at a highly suggested trattoria. I sat down at the table with low spirits and a nap-hangover that I couldn’t shake, but figured a proper meal would probably help soothe my sickness.

The first item I spotted on the menu was pappa al pomodoro, a tomato soup in which day old bread is mixed in to make it thicker and more hearty. We discussed this dish in my Italian culture class the day before, so I decided a nice soup and some zucchini risotto would be the perfect 1-2 punch of Italian food to cheer me up.

Processed with VSCO with p4 preset

Pappa al pomodoro – tomato soup with a twist at Trattoria San Lorenzo, Florence. Photo by Jenna Severson

I can’t really remember the last time a meal made me legitimately giggle out of pure happiness, but this one sure did. The soup trickled down my throat and warmed me to the very core, wrapping me in a comforting embrace of Italian goodness. The risotto wasn’t as robust as the soup, but followed up with broth-based comfort and some much needed vegetables. As the waiter came up and asked about dessert, I asked for the chocolate gelato, instead of the standard vanilla. He looked at me with a mischievous glint in his eyes and said: “You don’t want both?”

He knew.

I was easily convinced and about ten minutes later had a glass bowl of chocolate and vanilla gelato sitting in front of me. Slowly but surely, this one meal brought out the happier me I had been missing all day and I will be forever thankful to that trattoria for it.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Zucchini risotto at Trattoria San Lorenzo, Florence. Photo by Jenna Severson

The meal convinced me, food is a miracle worker. It can be used as medicine, like a big bowl of chicken noodle soup (or perhaps pappa al pomodoro). It can be used as a conversation topic, like discussing that one place that you tried that one time that has that great dish. It can be used a time machine, when one taste of an oatmeal cookie takes you back to stealing bits of dough out of the mixing bowl while mom was baking on a crisp autumn afternoon. Food brings people together and can realign your thoughts and emotions. All it takes is one bite.

Leave a comment

Filed under Florence, MU Journalism Abroad, Science ad Agricultual Journalism

Leave a Reply

